Scientific Committee

Edo Bar-Zeev

Prof. Edo Bar-Zeev

Ben-Gurion University of the Negev

Member of the Scientific Committee
Email: edobarzeev@gmail.com
Research Areas:  Applied and environmental microbiologist, focusing on bacterial consortiums in natural and man-made systems

ברק

Prof. Barak Herut

Israel Oceanographic & Limnological Research

Member of the Scientific Committee
Email: barak@ocean.org.il
Position at the IOLR: CEO
Research Areas:
Chemical oceanography

Dan-Liberzon

Prof. Dan Liberzon

Technion

Member of the  Scientific Committee and Educational Committee

Email: liberzon@technion.ac.il
Position at the Technion:
Head coordinator – Water Engineering program at the Faculty of Civil and Environmental Engineering. Graduate studies committee member – Interdisciplinary Program for Ocean Engineering.
Research Areas: Experimental Fluid Mechanics and Measurements techniques.

IMG-20161114-WA0004

Prof. Ilana Berman-Frank

University of Haifa

 Member of the Scientific Committee

Email: iberman2@univ.haifa.ac.il
Position at the University of Haifa: Director of The Leon H. Charney School of Marine Sciences
Research Areas: The impact of aquatic ecosystems on the environment and society, ranging from the local to the global scales

יוני

Prof. Jonathan Belmaker

Tel Aviv University

Member of the Scientific Committee
Email jbelmaker@tauex.tau.ac.il
Research Areas: Fish ecology, biodiversity, impacts of climate change on fishes, fishing, biological invasions

שירי צמח שמיר5 - גבריאל בהרליה

Dr. Shiri Tsemah Shamir

Reichman University (IDC Herzliya )

Chairman of Educational Committee and Member of the Scientific Committee
Email shiri.zemahshamir@idc.ac.il 
Position at Reichman university (IDC Herzliya) : Head of Economics-Sustainability, Academic Advisor
Research Areas: Marine environment economics

Dan Tchernov

Prof. Dani Tchernov

Head and Scientific Director of the Mediterranean Sea Research Center of Israel

Email: dtchernov@univ.haifa.ac.il
Additional Positions: founder and scientific director of the Morris Khan Sea Research StationMarine Biology Department; Chief operation officer of Project CETI
Research Areas: climate change biology, marine photosynthesis, molecular mechanisms in coral, deep and mesophotic reefs, fluorescent and luminiscent proteins

Oded

Dr. Oded Katz

Geological Institute

Member of the Scientific Committee

Email odedk@gsi.gov.il
Research Areas: Sediment transport along the Israeli offshore with implications to marine geo-hazard

 

חזי

Prof. Hezi Gildor

Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Member of the Scientific Committee

Email hezi.gildor@mail.huji.ac.il 
Research Areas: physical oceanography

Gitai Yahel 2017

Prof. Giti Yahel

Ruppin Academic Center

Member of the Scientific Committee and Educational Committee
Email Yahel@ruppin.ac.il
Research Areas: Biological oceanography and marine biology

Eyal

Dr. Eyal Wurgaft

The Open University of Israel

Member of the Scientific Committee

Email eyal.wurgaft@mail.huji.ac.il
Research areas:chemical oceanographer.

ilan

Prof. Ilan Koren

Weizmann Institute of Science

Member of the Scientific Committee

Email ilan.koren@weizmann.ac.il
Research areas: Cloud physics, nonlinear dynamics, Ocean – atmosphere interactions

אורן

Prof. Oren Levy

The Bar-Ilan University

Member of the Scientific Committee and Educational Committee
Email oren.levy@biu.ac.il
Research Areas:Marine Ecology and Molecular Ecology

Matan

Dr. Matan Oren

Ariel University

Member of the Scientific Committee  

Email: matanok@gmail.com

Research Areas: The plastisphere – the ecosystem of marine plastic trash;
Marine plastic-degrading organisms and the underlying molecular mechanisms for plastic biodegradation  

 

yehuda portrait

Prof. Yehuda Agnon

Technion

Chairman and Member of the Scientific Committee

Email agnon@technion.ac.il
Research Areas: Marine engineering